The thermometer itself just feels sturdy, the controls are easy to set and the alarm is loud enough to hear from the the prep kithchen 50 feet away through 2 open doorways. Reviews; Tags; Product description ThermoWorks ChefAlarm® - Red. The smart display will recognize which probes are in use and will auto-switch between channels 1,2 and 3,4; or control it using the up and down arrows. I am so happy that online research identified the availability of this model from ThermoWorks. The unit works great and by pulling the steaks off the grill when the temp alarm hits 128F, then letting them rest on a plate for another 3-4 minutes with the temp still being monitored, I hit my target of 135-138F and the steaks are perfect. It seems like every time we try a different thermometer there are some major drawback, if it’s a good price, it’s probably cheaply made and falls apart just from you looking at it. We’ve reviewed lots of thermometers and rarely do we come across one that nails the basic features, doesn’t add a bunch of useless crap and comes with such a high degree of build quality. I'm sharing everything I learn along the way on my journey from amateur to pitmaster. It seems like every time we try a different thermometer there are some major drawback, if it’s a good price, it’s probably cheaply made and falls apart just from you looking at it. The best place to buy the Smoke is from the Thermoworks website. The best way to ensure you get the lowest price and full support is to buy off the Thermoworks website. The readout unit is not entirely waterproof, and can only withstand some light splashing. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for ChefAlarm by ThermoWorks - (Red) by ThermoWorks at Amazon.com. It can be used to accurately and quickly determine temperature on the fly. I can't really say more than that it has every feature I've needed and none that I haven't needed. The main difference between a countertop thermometer and an instant read thermometer like the Thermapen (made by the same manufacturer as the ChefAlarm) is the probe thickness. So if you want a thermometer that can work just as well as a pit probe or a leave in meat probe, or to get a quick read while grilling meat then you can easily justify spending the extra cash on the ChefAlarm. I work in a professional kitchen and the guys are always asking me if they can borrow it! then just sit around as it beeps when you've hit your temps. One of the products they sent this week is the new DOT meat thermometer. Read more about this issue on the Thermoworks blog. This comes in handy. input your mashing out temp of 170 at the high alarm & your cooling temp of 70 at the low alarm. The ThermoWorks "Smoke," is a two-channel, in-food/in-oven, wireless remote thermometer that is well made, easy to use, and performs very well. Over the last several years, I have purchased three different cooking thermometers. Learn more. On a good note, the device itself is well-built and easy-to-use. The ChefAlarm from ThermoWorks is a winner in my book. With this thermometer my meat is cooked to perfection every single time! I’ve talked about my ChefAlarm briefly many times in previous posts (like here and here), so I thought it was about time that I give it a proper review.

Waterproof + advanced features. The Thermoworks Chef Alarm is a leave-in-food or leave-in-oven thermometer. I have had my thermopen for a little over a year now, and have loved it. Both of these are common issues with thermometers in general, but it would have been nice to get a little bit more durability at this price point. The ChefAlarm has a button for each action and they are clearly labeled. We especially liked the little touches. Reviewed in the United States on February 4, 2016. You can unsubscribe at any time. It gets … We found the ChefAlarm to be gloriously easy to use, rather than the latest design trend of taking out as many buttons as possible and having the remaining ones do seven thousand different things each. This is a fantastic product. Close the door and the cable stays plugged in with information that does nothing but help her. It comes in a protective carrying case, has a much longer thermometer cord, and offers a better overall design and display. Replacements are still affordable. Reviews for the real world. Instead, insert the Pro-Series probe’s tip into the food you are tracking, connect the other end of the probe to ChefAlarm thermometer, and place ChefAlarm outside of the oven/smoker (usually on a countertop).

See full disclosure. Here are the tips—the do’s and don’ts—to help you prolong their life and get the most out of your ThermoWorks alarm thermometers. You'll be the first to know when we publish a new grill or smoker recipe & we'll also send you our best meat smoking tips for free! The tool comes in lots of fun colors, yet it is beefy and feels like a true professional quality tool. We promise not to spam you. Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2013. I have had several different thermometers in my time cooking, and thermoworks never ceases to amaze me with the quality and accuracy of their product. The ChefAlarm thermometer replaced a less expensive High-Low thermometer that I bought several years ago for yogurt making. It can be operated over … There is also a volume setting on the alarm, a display of the highest and lowest temperatures recorded, a counter and a timer. Cooking a turkey in the oven over this most recent Thanksgiving, the temperature reading suddenly (and incorrectly) shot up from 130°F to well over 200°F. See our full review of the Billows airflow pit controller for the ThermoWorks Signals Thermometer. Easily save as PDF or print for future use. In addition to the high and low alarms the ChefAlarm also comes with an optional needle probe that is small enough to fit into a chicken thigh and also other small types of meats that you need to monitor.” As you can see there are a ton of positive reviews out there for the ThermoWorks ChefAlarm. Get your free Smoking Times and Temperature chart: Before we can send you your free smoking chart, you need to confirm your email. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and family. For most of you out there looking for a bbq thermometer you will already be considering the Maverick ET-733. While most thermometers have a thicker probe and take longer to get a decent read on your food, the ChefAlarm’s probe is pretty thin which allows you to read temperatures accurately within 5 seconds. We recently included the Thermoworks ChefAlarm on our best smoker thermometers guide. So I decided that it was time for me to try out the Chef Alarm, and with holiday cooking it seemed like it would be the best thing. Disabling it will result in some disabled or missing features. Follow Reviewed on … Reviewed in the United States on March 14, 2014. **Note** This email might be in your 'Promotions' folder. If you’re looking for a few more helpful features on a leave-in probe thermometer, the ThermoWorks ChefAlarm includes a timer and volume adjustment. The magnetic back is also nice! I love that there is a timer that can run at the same time. Accuracy depends on which temperature range you are in: ±1.8°F (±1.0°C) from -4 to 248°F (-20 to 120°C), ±3.6°F (±2.0°C) from -58 to -4°F / 248 to 392°F (-50 to -20°C / 120 to 200°C), ±5.4°F (±3.0°C) from 392 to 572°F (200 to 300°C), Battery 2 x AAA, 5000 hours (1 year typical depending on alarm use), Dimensions 5.94 H x 2.75 W x .75 D inches (150.9 H x 69.9 W x 19.1 D mm). Probe Range: -58 to 572°F (-50 to 300°C) While we previously mentioned that the probe thickness of the ChefAlarm allowed it to read temperatures quickly, the Thermapen is by far the fastest draw in the west and can be used to confirm temperatures in the more “delicate” areas of the meat, like right beside bones or in especially thick sections. We also like the fact that the cable is heat resistant to a higher temperature than the probe is. 7-inch diameter, heat resistant to 600°F, dishwasher safe, 10 colors, for every kitchen. So it’s really several thermometers in one. Both ThermoWorks products, the Thermapen is a waterproof instant read thermometer that is handheld. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. The ThermoWorks Thermapen is an incredibly fast, accurate digital thermometer that serious home cooks will find well worth the exorbitant price. There's a problem loading this menu right now. No thanks. Thermoworks have bet that their customers value build quality and ease of use over fancy features. I finally purchased the Thermoworks ChefAlarm and the probe that stays in the entire time on the grill and I am finally cooking perfect steaks. This has been the best probe thermometer I have ever seen or owned. Get BBQ guides, recipes, gear reviews and great deals sent straight to your inbox. Easily save as a PDF so you can refer back to it whenever you need. Like all of the Thermoworks thermometers, the ChefAlarm is very accurate. I love the ability to use the high and low temperature alarms. ThermoWorks ChefAlarm October 4, 2014 By: Justine comment Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. You will know What is the best Thermoworks Chefalarm Probe on the market? If you want a smart bluetooth thermometer that connects to an app on your phone then the ChefAlarm isn’t for you (if this sounds like something you would like then check out the iGrill2 available on Amazon). We think that decision has paid off. The display unit remains outside the cooker and displays the probe temperature, min and max temperatures, upper and lower alarm settings and has a count-down timer function. We have already reviewed and loved (I use the Thermapen almost daily) a few of their products, so I am always excited to see what they have coming out next. It keeps a running high and low tally so you know what has happened over time. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through a link on this page. The Best Smoker Thermometers for Mastering Temperature Control, Smoking Your First Brisket – Advice From Aaron Franklin, Cooking Probe Cable Range max 700°F (370°C). It should not be attached directly to a smoker or grill. Compared to my older one, the intuitiveness of the programming is superior and the display allows you to simultaneously see both the programmed upper and lower temperature settings. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. I always followed the instructions carefully—never once submerged the probe cable, never let the probe cable rest against hot grill grates or the oven rack—and the probe still failed after a handful of uses. A quick warning about ordering ThermoWorks products. Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2015. Trust me the alarm is pretty loud! ThermoWorks products bought off these 3rd party websites are not covered by technical support and warranty.

Built for robust commercial use, they are more accurate, faster and more moisture-resistant than any other alarm probes. It is excellent and worth the money. Medium Rare is so hard to achieve. With his homemade smoker it is difficult to know if the meat temperature is staying consistent. Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. Like the fact that it comes with a pot clip for deep frying, and that the back of the unit has a magnet on it so you can keep it on your smoker or barbecue. The protective case it comes with is a little bulky but is very effective, the braided metal cord on the probe has the usual kinking problems but is built for rough usage. Conclusions. If I had to pick one of the most versatile kitchen equipment that I own, it would be ChefAlarm by ThermoWorks. My husband made a DIY smoker and loves to smoke low and slow. Review: ThermoWorks ChefAlarm® February 3, 2015. Making it an ideal smoker for the kind of person who wants to focus on smoking meat. Where to buy. Now as the founder and editor in chief of Smoked Barbecue Source I get to grill, barbecue and write about meat for a living! I used my ThermoWorks ChefAlarm about 8–10 times before the probe failed. Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2018. Which means you will want to keep it in a plastic bag if you’re using it outdoors, just in case it rains. The ChefAlarm’s thermometer does not go in the oven when you use it, as high heat will melt it. ThermaQ 2 has a large, info-rich display and backlight to deliver the right temperature info with easy-to-use buttons. While we are reviewing the ChefAlarm for barbecue use, this thermometer gets a lot of praise from other industries including brewers and chefs.
The ThermoWorks ChefAlarm is well worth the extra money. With the extra features that the ThermoWorks ChefAlarm includes, the usability increases greatly. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. The ThermoWorks ChefAlarm is well worth the extra money. While you can get a quick overview of what makes this thermometer special by checking out the guide above, we wanted to drill down into exactly what Thermoworks have created in this review, and give you all the information you need before you decide to pull the trigger. Click here to learn more about ThermoWorks ChefAlarm thermometer. Every kitchen should have at least one ChefAlarm. I used my ThermoWorks ChefAlarm about 8–10 times before the probe failed. For most people grill up or grill down isn’t something they even think, Your email address will not be published. Black Friday 2020: Snag this top-rated ThermoWorks ChefAlarm probe thermometer right now. In these ways the ChefAlarm sets itself away from the pack and proves itself to be one of the best thermometers on the market today. Your email address will not be published. The two year warranty was also a big bonus, so you know that your purchase is a safe one. I previously had ThermoWorks The Original Cooking Thermometer/Timer. The ChefAlarm does include a timer, but we don’t find this super useful for barbecue; If you think you’ll ever need to monitor two pieces of meat, or your pit temp plus meat temp, there’s no reason to go with the ChefAlarm over the Smoke. It also features both high and low alarms. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. Each ChefAlarm comes with the digital readout unit, high temperature probe and cable, pot clip and zippered case. Reviewed in the United States on December 18, 2013. Make sure you click the button in that email so you can start receiving emails from us. Related: Hands On Review: Brew Hardware’s Cooler Mash Tun Conversion Kit – Making a Mash Tun. This is Thermoworks’ attempt at a dedicated two probe wireless BBQ thermometer and is a direct rival to the likes of the Maverick ET-733 and the Thermopro TP20. Check out this video for a detailed breakdown of the Thermoworks ChefAlarm. I have tried many manual thermometers to try and perfect my steaks on the grill. They are two vastly different products with different uses, and we find that they work quite well in conjunction with one another. Also, the ChefAlarm has interchangeable probes which can be swapped out for a number of different purposes, depending on what you’re making. Pink juicy center, not overcooked anywhere. Just a quality product designed for the hardships of a professional kitchen. Get the ThermoWorks ChefAlarm at ThermoWorks for $49.28 (Save $14.72) The product experts at Reviewed have all your shopping needs covered. Which is important when you’re cooking a steak and a few seconds can mean the difference between perfect medium rare and dry overdone. SmokedBBQSource is supported by its readers. We've compiled a list of the Best Thermoworks Chefalarm Probe of 2019 to buy, including Top (Highest) Rated Thermoworks Chefalarm Probe Reviews on Amazon.com, eBay, Walmart, Best Buy, Reddit. Despite the fact that it does have a lot of features. I am the only pastry cook at a fine dinning restaurant where everything is made from scratch on a daily basis. Designed for commercial use, ChefAlarm® delivers features not found in regular home kitchen alarms. There have also been a lot of reports about the cable becoming frayed rather quickly. Follow Reviewed on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest deals, reviews, and more. The specifications are as follows, it is important to note how heat resistant the cable is, something you don’t see often. No guessing, real time. You can still see all customer reviews for the product. High temperature alarm. The ThermoWorks ChefAlarm tracking mash temp like a champ. **Note** This email might be in your 'Promotions' folder. All worked well at the time of purchase. We loved the zippered case for added organization and the magnetic backing that allowed you to stick it onto the barbecue or oven. My probe was out of warranty (of course) by the time it failed, so they wanted an additional $20 for a new probe. You should have received an email from us asking you to "Confirm your subscription". The thin probe allows it to absorb and read heat quickly super fast. Thanks for subscribing! – Thermapen, ChefAlarm & More + 7 Reviews to Help you Decide ThermoWorks has discounted everything they carry site-wide by a whopping 18%. We recently discovered that some unscrupulous people are selling ThermoWorks products on sites like Amazon and eBay at huge markups. It may seem a bit silly but the ChefAlarm just felt better in our hands. The readout unit itself feels durable and feels like it could survive being dropped or jostled every so often. Continuing with our Thermoworks reviews, today we have the Thermoworks Smoke Review. The ThermoWorks Smoke X2 is fast, accurate, and easy to calibrate. I also love the current temp feature. We were surprised how high quality the case felt, this doesn’t seem like something that is going to fall apart in a matter of weeks. Cooking a turkey in the oven over this most recent Thanksgiving, the temperature reading suddenly (and incorrectly) shot up from 130°F to well over 200°F. ChefAlarm comes with one Pro-Series High Temp Cooking Probe that measures to 572°F with a cable that withstands 700°F short term exposure. use this for making beer. Thermoworks Smoke Review. My wife uses this thing all the time now, especially for meats. I have reached the age of 71 and for the life of me, I can not read the numbers on any of my three thermometers. It was good while it lasted. I figure they are all three still working, but what good does that do when you get old and your eyes can't read the tiny numbers. We tasked a professional chef (that’s me!) Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Ribeye and sirloin are some of the most well-known cuts of steak, but a recognizable name doesn’t tell you much about their differences or how, Have you never known exactly what to do with your grill lid? The continuous Min/Max display tells you how hot (or cold) your food got when you weren't looking. The ThermoWorks ChefAlarm is well worth the extra money. My husband made a DIY smoker and loves to smoke low and slow. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2014. Taking from the best of their other products, like the recently reviewed ChefAlarm, Thermoworks have created … This is a fantastic product. with grilling burgers over direct heat, cooking a pork loin over indirect heat, and smoking a pork shoulder. On the plus side if you do experience any issues the customer support team at ThermoWorks is highly regarded and have been known to quickly replace faulty units. Discount will … It includes a high and low temperature memory that lets you know what your food got to when you were gone. This page works best with JavaScript. See ThermoWorks ChefAlarm review and learn key features of this thermometer. Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2015. Get your free 6 Steps to Perfect Brisket checklist: Before we can send you your free brisket checklist, you need to confirm your email. It is the everyday mans thermometer, no frills, no confusion, nothing to prove or be fancy about. After all it was designed for the heat and stress of commercial kitchens. With the extra features that the ThermoWorks ChefAlarm includes, the usability increases greatly. Plus it’s always good to have something like this around, you don’t want to be unzipping a case and setting up your thermometer for absolutely everything. Durability. They respond very quickly and politely, but it's basically canned responses with little concern for the particulars of the problem. It has a transmitter attached to two probes and a remote receiver that you can put in your pocket. A few more minutes gets me to Medium and medium well, so I can satisfy all my guests with consistently great results. For an additional cost, the Signals also gives you the ability to add the Thermoworks Billows fan giving you a true temperature control and monitoring system for your BBQ or grill. I wouldn’t expect the ChefAlarm to read the same thing as the highly-accurate MK4 thermocouple thermometer, the fact it is in the same ballpark is quite impressive. Thermoworks ChefAlarm review overview. I love the ability to use the high and low temperature alarms. The ChefAlarm’s body is a nice and sturdy polymer shell that has an IP rating of 65. When you pick it up you can tell it’s durable. The probe itself is bent at a 90° angle which makes it easier to take out of the meat afterwards as well. Item Specs. While generally considered to be a high end piece of tech, we did have some questions about the build quality. We tested the ThermoWorks Smoke X2 side-by-side with the Weber Connect, MEATER+, and a number of other models to find the best probe thermometer on the market. Even though this single probe thermometer will cost you close to double what many duel probe thermometers cost, the build quality and ease of use made it our “best quality smoker thermometer”. ThermoWorks Smoke Review By Steve on December 18, 2016 in Equipment So if you’re like me and have been using ThermoWorks products for years for cooking both outside and inside…then you’ve probably always kinda wondered why they hadn’t ever come to the table with a wireless cooking thermometer to compete with a lot of other options on the market (one popular option being the iGrill 2 ). Check your email, and click "Confirm" and well send you a copy of the smoking chart. Required fields are marked *, Smokedbbqsource.com is a participant of the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program – it is designed to provide an aid for the websites in earning an advertisement fee – by means of advertising and linking to Amazon.com products. The ChefAlarm has a few key features that make it stand out form the sea of Mavericks.